Signs You Should Get a Lawyer After a Car Accident
One minute you are traveling down the road, out running errands or on your way to work or school. The next you hear a horn blare or the screeching of tires, and find yourself involved in a car accident.
Most of us are unsure of the steps to take to protect ourselves when a crash or a collision occurs. It is normal to want to downplay injuries that may have occurred. This is especially true if the accident was minor. You might assume your own or the other driver’s insurance company will take care of the matter. It’s not always that simple, though.
Here are four signs you should contact a car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
1. You have suffered injuries as the result of the accident.
Even a minor crash or collision can cause injuries that can be serious and disabling. Symptoms can take days or weeks to appear. You should always seek medical care after a car accident. This will help avoid lasting complications and will ensure you don’t jeopardize your claim.
The Mayo Clinic advises that injuries such as whiplash, muscle strains, and head, back, or neck injuries can all have lasting impacts. Injuries might reduce your ability to work or engage in hobbies. An experienced car accident lawyer can help ensure you get the compensation you need. They will calculate lost wages or medical expenses you suffer now and in the years to come.
2. There are questions over who was to blame for the accident occurring.
When you are the victim of another driver’s reckless or negligent conduct, it is vital to collect the evidence necessary to support your claim. Your accident attorney can help in this process. They can get witness statements, obtain video if available, get the accident report, and gather other evidence.
3. You were partially responsible for the accident occurring.
Even if you were partially to blame for your car accident, you may still be entitled to compensation under Colorado’s comparative negligence statutes. For example, suppose the amount of damages you suffered totaled $100,000 but the Court determine you are 30 percent to blame for the accident. You may still be entitled to recover 70 percent from the other driver, or $70,000.
4. The settlement offered by the insurance company is less than what you feel you deserve.
Insurance companies have a financial motive for either denying or undervaluing claims. You must always keep this in mind. Before making any statements or accepting any settlement offers, contact our Colorado personal injury attorneys. We can help negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. Accepting a settlement means you waive your future rights. Talk to us first, ensure you get the compensation you deserve.